HOW MANY MORE ATTESTATIONS?

Posted on November 15, 2010. Filed under: WTF |

I have always wondered to say it very mildly whether things change.

There was a time when I like many of my day posted job applications by the dozen. Among other things, the photostat copies of certificates were required to be attested by some ‘gazetted’ officer for the purpose of certifying their authenticity. Of course, at the end of the application form, there was this mandatory undertaking to be given by the applicant stating that in the event of any information proven to be wrong, suitable action would be liable.

It was not difficult for me to get the necessary attestation from the suitably qualified persons. But my siblings who had their education in cities not close to my hometown, found it extremely difficult to get the job done.

Recently, I zeroed in on one potential employer and to my surprise, the attestation of the certificates was required. Pissed off, I decided not to apply even as my chances were bright.

A few days ago, I was required to verify the examination forms of the students who are to take the examinations in March. Most students reported late and upon enquiry, they told me of the travails and troubles faced to get the attestation done.

When is this shameful practice going to end?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “HOW MANY MORE ATTESTATIONS?”

RSS Feed for Y V SAI MADHAV Comments RSS Feed

You have raised a good point. Now a days it is difficult to know gazetted officers to attest many copies. Xerox copy should suffice and can be verified at the time of appointment etc from the originals.

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

