TO MAKE AMENDS

Posted on November 25, 2011. Filed under: OFF -BEAT, PERSONAL | Tags: , |

It has been extremely difficult for me to get this post up on to my blog in time for the great contest put up by indiblogger.in and Surf Excel. The reason being the paucity of time.

Being a student of Economics, I was taught that while human wants are unlimited the resources to satisfy them not are scarce, but also have alternative uses. I tell the same to my students in the classrooms.

For a long time, money seemed to be the only resource that was in short supply as far as I was concerned and that gave me difficulties in life.But marriage and fatherhood added a whole new variable to already complex equation.

When I was single, I had all the time to do whatever I wanted to do, of course, within the confines of my small wallet. I developed this habit of watching movies and surfing the internet late into the night. The nighttime was also utilised for tasks related to my job. My father and mother wanted me to go to the bed early but their pleas were never listened to. The evening time was meant for friends.

Marriage brought a dramatic change to my routine. Initially, my wife was rather intimidated to make any change to my time allocation. But as soon as I became a father, she took control. The lights went out early and she even threatened to throw my laptop out of the home. It has become extremely difficult for me to watch the television late into the night. The ‘big brother’ i.e., my wife was always watching me.

The evenings are now spent in the company of my wife and son. I have to share some of the responsibility of the home. In the beginning, things felt cumbersome but now I am happy to spend time with the family. The trade-off is evident in the frequency of my posts on the blog.My friends are now given more time on the phone. It seems a thing of the very distant past when some friend wants me to join him for some event.

The two extra hours can make me a better son, a loving husband and a caring father. Of course, with wants having the knack of recurring, the extra hours may be used for some thing different that might not please my wife.

After all these years, I realise the need to give more time to the real world and not to the virtual one.

If only I win something big in this contest, I can get my wife sanction more time for my late night activities.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “TO MAKE AMENDS”

RSS Feed for Y V SAI MADHAV Comments RSS Feed

nice entry. all the best for contest

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

