HAIRY MATTERS-SHAKEN & STIRRED

Posted on January 12, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

I come from a small town where fashion trends often reached late back in the day when there was no internet and cable/satellite television. This extended even to the hairstyle for movies were a strict no-no for me and my siblings. Me and my siblings were taken to a salon where my father gave instructions on the style of the haircut. Not to be outdone, my mother armed with some traditional substances gave the wash to hair every Sunday.

In high school, I came across some fellow pupils who had a different hairstyle that was frowned upon by my father. He called it the ‘hippy’ style. To make matters worse, the teachers also showed a distinct dislike for those who sported hair in that style.  Things continued the same even when I went to college where my father was a member of the faculty. I was asked to apply the customary hair oil every morning.

However, when I went out of the town for post graduation, the chimes of freedom were heard in full blast and decisions were taken promptly about the hairstyle. The first thing I did as a matter of rebellion was to shun the hair oil. With no mother nearby, different brands of shampoos were entertained. By that time, having long hair was not in fashion even though I started a liking for the kind of music that is called Classic Rock.  

I sported a haircut that is the practice with the members of the armed forces. The hair always appears unkempt all the time with most people not taking me seriously. Once I became a teacher in the college, it was time to grow hair a little longer.  That style continues to this day.

My younger brother has curly hair and so does my wife. I do not want curls nor is there a need for long hair. All I want is a hairstyle that is presentable and which suits my profession. I do not want to use styling gels nor I want to try out some new hair care products but I want to recharge my hair. I am at times embarrassed with the look of my hair and I feel bad to carry some comb in my pocket to take care of my hair. I am a teacher and I pride on bringing some sense to unruly students but I cannot say the same about my hair.

This is my post for the fabulous contest brought by indiblogger.in in collaboraton with sunsilk-known for some popular shampoos. For more information on the great line-up of products from sunsilk this is the link  sunsilk.in

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

