I AM A CRICKET FANATIC

Posted on April 21, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , |

I find it extremely painful not being able to watch live cricket on the television. The timings of the matches mostly coincide with my work hours or with the requirements of my wife and son.

When it comes to the Indian Premier League (#IPL), things are different as far as the timing is concerned but in the evenings, my son always wants to go for a long ride on my motorbike or my wife wants to go out just to beat the heat or to damage my badly damaged wallet.

With the advent of mobile phones, keeping track of the matches became easy at anytime and anywhere thanks to the text messaging. The latest score was just an SMS away. Now with most of us having smartphones with dedicated apps for cricket that work best with high speed data connections, things have go to a different level altogether. Text messaging for scores and results has become so old fashioned.

I remember the time when I was new into my job and had to take a class while India was playing. I mustered enough courage and asked the students about them not watching the match. The students admitted that they would rather go home and watch but for my class. I felt flattered for the students chose my class over the match, At the same time, it also gave me an indication of the desire of my students and asked them to leave the classroom and the college without attracting any unwanted attention of the Principal. Of course, the Head of the Department and the Principal came to know of my escapade and had a laugh a few days later. It helped that they were colleagues of my father.

I remember the semifinals of the Cricket World Cup of 1996 when India clashed with Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens. I requested people in charge of the examinations to exempt me for the day. No matter how persuasive I was, they simply wouldn’t budge and I had to supervise. Of course, India finished on the losing side and the hurt over the refusal of the colleagues was far less in relation to the anger resulting from the loss of the match.

For the last few months, my wife makes me go to the bed early, partly to enable me to go for walk in the morning and partly to help my son get up early for his school. With the current edition of #PepsiIPL2014 in the middle-east, some of the matches go past the curfew hour fixed by my wife. So I have devised a new plan. I sit before the television with some text books one day and answer scripts the next. I am dreading the day when she finds out that there are no classes in the college since the examinations are going on. So much planning has to be made for a simple game of cricket.

Starsports.com has launched a number of mobile apps to whet the appetite of cricket fans. I would love to watch the matches of #IPL #PepsiIPL on my mobile but for the poor data connection. The next best thing is the scoreboard app that is really fast.Besides, there are statistics and videos to make for any missed action.

This is my entry for the fabulous contest put up by starsports.com and blogadda.com at starsports.blogadda.com. There are great prizes on offer.
This post is a part of Cricket just got better! Activity by starsports.com in association with BlogAdda.com.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

