MELBOURNE CALLING

Posted on December 29, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

It was during the weeks leading upto my HSC (10th class )examination in 1985 that India won the World Championship of Cricket at one of the most iconic places where cricket is played -the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Even as there was no television at that time in my part of the world, Melbourne had become on of the go-to-places for me. The pictures of the ground and the players in coloured clothing playing with a white ball under lights only added to the charm. Of course, in 1981 India beat the host country in a test match on the same ground whilst defending a small total. The finals of the 1992 World Cup featuring England and Pakistan was brought to my home live. So for me the must visit to place in Melbourne is the MCG-the stomping ground for some of the greatest cricketers the world has ever seen.

Speaking about cricket, I would love to take a look at the birthplace of one of the greatest players of the modern era-Shane Warne.

As a follower of tennis, I would love to go to the site of the Australian Open which is not very far from the MCG. The Rod Laver Arena would make a thrilling experience where the courts have a lot of stories to tell including the tears of Pete Samparas, the dives of Boris Becker and the smooth shotmaking of Roger Federer. I would love to pay a visit to the river Yarra into which Jim Courier dived after winning the first tennis major of the season.

In 2015, the Formula 1 returns to Melbourne to signal the start of the new season and the race track would be a perfect outing even when the cars are not there.

Besides the cricket, tennis and the F1, there is a personal reason to visit Melbourne, My younger brother spent nearly five years in that great city and even after five years, he still has great stories to tell about the food, the city and most importantly the people. He waxes eloquent about the Italian food, the Greek food, the Japanese sushi and the fine experience of dining at a Malay restaurant. I would also love to pay a visit to the nearby vineyards, even as I am not a fan of wines. It would make for a great experience to meet a few of his friends. Being a diabetic, I may not be in a position to savour the gastronomic delights Melbourne has to offer.

I would definitely take my wife and young son to see the Penguins at the Philip Island Nature Parks. Of course, my son will want to bring home a penguin!

My brother brought home a lot of souveniers from the F1 race and the Australian open. Those are one of my post prized possessions.

There is an interesting video on youtube.com where George Calombaris of Masterchef Australia fame is eating and enjoying pani puris.

For more information, one can always go to the official tourism website of Melbourne, created especially for Indians.

Indiblogger has a fine blogging contest with great prizes on offer including a trip to Melbourne.

There also a great prize-a shopping voucher of Rs.500 for one reader of this post who gives the best answer to the following question:
“Which of these places would you want to visit in Melbourne and why?”.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “MELBOURNE CALLING”

RSS Feed for Y V SAI MADHAV Comments RSS Feed

Great post! After reading your post & watching all the videos, I’d most like to visit the Dandenong Ranges for it’s scenic beauty, breathtaking view and cool breeze blowing through my hair. 😛 I’d give anything away for driving through the winding roads which are present throughout the ranges. I’d love to stay at one of the bed and breakfast cottages and go on frequent excursions in the forests with my camera which provides excellent views. And not to forget the famous ride in the Puffing Billy, a day reserved especially for that. To add to that, there are also several picnic spots for me and my friends to spend a fun-filled day and the ranges are a perfect spot for hiking and cycling.

Pingback: https://cruxrebels.wordpress.com/2014/12/24/melbourne-the-place-to-be-see/

Wish you and your blog a happy new year! 😀

Like

To answer your question, I would like to see following places in Melbourne-
1) 12 Apostles from the sky – I want to see their changing colours through hellicopter.
2)Yarra Valley Wineyard – for wine
3) Hot Air Balloon ride – for enjoying the scene and thrill
4) the worlds’s greatest street art capital – as I love paintings specially done on buildings.
5) Queen Victoria Market – for shopping
6) A Maze & Things – to play with puzzles and mazes and enjoy illusions
7)the Penguin Parade – for watching penguins,
8) drive through the Great Ocean Road – to enjoy long drive and beauty of beach and forests
9) Peninsula Hot Springs – to enjoy hot spring spa

Like

Some of the most interesting places which I shortlisted to visit after watching Tanmay and Rohan’s videos is here. This comment space would be very less in order to keep on giving the reasons to visit these places once in life, but I am trying to be as short and crisp as possible and these are the must visit places if at all I go to Melbourne in my life.

Yarra Valley for Great Day out and Excellent Wine Tasting tour which seems totally magical. Driving around Yarra Valley in a beautiful and breathtaking places seems like a great country getaway from Melbourne city and so much to see, visit and taste.

Going for a Seal Watching Cruise and Observing those inquisitive & graceful creatures close up, is a trip one will not forget I guess. It seems to be a totally a worthy place for young and old too. So many seals getting close to them could be an absolutely thrilling experience.

Another place I wouldn’t want to miss is Sunny Ridge Strawberry farm for some AMAZING Strawberry ice cream and strawberries, it seems like a strawberry heaven with delicious, succulent and mouth watering strawberries ever. I am sure this place visit would be a great experience for the kids too.

Have you watched Penguins parade ? If not, I guess this is the place to visit which is Phillip Island Nature Park. The experience to watch these penguins is Out of this world, a must see for great experience and its awesome

for Animal lovers too. Its like cute litte faires coming in from Ocean. I guess, this is a MUST do experience when I am in Melbourne.

Are you a chocolate lover ? I guess Pannys Amazing World of Chocolate is a must visit place for enjoying some mouth watering chocolates. Also, just watching the huge waterfall of chocolate cascade down is breath taking. And watching the live chocolate making is fun.

If you are a drive freak and love to drive around in some scenic spots, this is the place to visit which is “The Great Ocean Road”. Seems like it would be a Great tour, great food and fantastic view.

Some more places which I love to visit is Montalto Vineyard & Olive Grove, Loch Ard Gorge beach, Chateau Yering BBQ for some amazing Australian BBQ and definitely a hot air balloon ride for spectacular sightseeing and experience in life.

Like

Wow! Melbourne is awesome! 🙂 You have presented its facets very well…
I have been seeing the videos over and over, and I think that one of the places I’m very keen to go to is The Great Ocean Road with its stunning coastline, the sunsets and beautiful serene drive! Can’t wait to see it all for myself 🙂

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

